History Of Our Church

Vicariate Apostolic Of Francistown

(Province of Pretoria)

Our Lady of the Desert and St. Francis of Assisi

Created Vicariate of Francistown in 1998 with territory taken from the diocese of Gaborone that covered the whole country. The territory of the Vicariate lies north of the Tropic of Capricorn. The Vicariate comprises the following civil districts: Central, North East, North West, Chobe, Ngamiland and Ghanzi.

The Vicariate of Francistown is bounded to the East by the Archdiocese of Bulawayo and the diocese of Hwange (Zimbabwe), to the North by Livingstone diocese (Zambia) and the Vicariate of Rundu (Namibia), to the West by the Archdiocese of Windhoek (Namibia), to the South by the Gaborone diocese and to the South East by the diocese of Polokwane (Pietersburg) in South Africa.

Democratic Republic Of Botswana - Diocese Of Francistown

Total Pop
Catholic Pop

Appointment Of Bishop Frank Nabuasah

Right Reverend Bishop Frank Atese Nubuasah, SVD Appointed first Bishop of Francistown 27 June 1998, ordained Bishop 7th November 1998. He is the Titular Bishop of Pauzerea.


History Of the Church

History is the study of the past as it is described in written documents.